Board of Directors
Our Staff
Our Members
Our Contact Info

Board of Directors

The MCA Board is made up of ten different seats, each representing a segment of the North Pacific and Bering Sea fishing industry. As MCA works on issues that are common to our members, we strive for consensus before taking a position on any policy matters. In the absence of a consensus, our bylaws require a super-majority vote representing 75% of present Board members. Our Board of Directors and members are active in many issues and routinely form sub-committees to guide research or to develop position statements as issues arise.

Sector Board Member
Alternate Representing
Community Development Quota Program President Anne Vanderhoeven Angel Drobnica Bristol Bay Economic Development Corporation

Aleutian Pribilof Island Community Development Association

Pollock Catcher Processors Vice President Arne Fuglvog Donna Parker  Iquique US

Arctic Storm Management Group

Gulf of Alaska shoreside trawl catcher vessels and processors Secretary Julie Bonney Bob Krueger Alaska Groundfish Databank
& Alaska Whitefish Trawlers Association
Alaska Community Treasurer Frank Kelty Shirley Marquardt City of Unalaska
Shoreside Processors Kris Norosz
Mike Okoniewski Icicle Seafoods

Pacific Seafood

Pacific Seafood Processors Association Glenn Reed Nicole Kimball Pacific Seafood Processors Association
Alaska Scallop Jim Stone Alaska Scallop Association
Groundfish Catcher Processors John Gauvin Mark Fina Groundfish Forum

United States Seafoods, LLC

Cod Fixed Gear Vacant Vacant Alaska Longline Company
Bering Sea Shoreside Catcher Vessels Vacant Heather Mann United Catcher Boats

Midwater Trawlers Cooperative

Our Staff

Lori Swanson, Executive Director: Lori has a Bachelor’s degree in biology from the University of Washington and began work in North Pacific fisheries in 1980, as an Observer on foreign-flagged trawlers. In the 1980’s she worked as a joint-venture fishery representative during the transition from foreign to US fishing, and spent time as a deckhand on US catcher vessels. Lori worked with a trawl gear designer and manufacturer during the 1990’s, developing a vocational program for fishermen and representing the company in international markets. Most recently, Lori spent 15 years at the Groundfish Forum in Seattle, including nine years of service on the North Pacific Fishery Management Council’s Advisory Panel.

Stephanie Dunlap, Administrative Assistant: Stephanie’s passion for fish started when she attended college. She spent her internship with the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration researching Walleye pollock fish stomach contents and participating on trawl surveys in the Gulf of Alaska. After graduating from college, she worked as a scientific technician for the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife collecting biological and catch data on local sturgeon and salmon fisheries. She then spent time as an observer on commercial fishing vessels in the Bering Sea, working on a trawler, longliner, and floater processor. Stephanie gained valuable office experience at several positions, but most notably at her recent position with the Mountains to Sound Greenway Trust. She was Office Manager and Greenway 365 Event Coordinator, responsible for organizing various annual events, as well as keeping the day-to-day affairs of the office running smoothly.

Our Members

The work we do would not be possible without the generous support of our invaluable members.

Adak Community Development Corporation
Alaska Longline Co.
Alaska Whitefish Trawlers Association
Alaska Groundfish Data Bank
International Seafoods of Alaska, North Pacific Seafoods, Trident Seafoods, Western Alaska Fisheries
Alaska Scallop Association
Aleutian Pribilof Island Community Development Association
Akutan, Atka, False Pass, Nelson Lagoon, Nikolski, St. George
Arctic Storm Management Group
Bristol Bay Economic Development Corporation
Aleknagik, Clark’s Point, Dillingham, Egegik, Ekuk, Ekwok, King Salmon, Levelock, Manokotak, Naknek, Pilot Point, Port Heiden, Portage Creek, South Naknek, Togiak, Twin Hills, Ugashik
Central Bering Sea Fishermen’s Association
St. Paul
City of Unalaska
Glacier Fish Company
Groundfish Forum
Fishermen’s Finest, Iquique US, Ocean Peace, O’Hara Corporation, The Fishing Company of Alaska, United States Seafoods
High Seas Catchers Vessels
Ocean Harvester, Sea Storm, Neahkahnie
Icicle Seafoods
Norton Sound Economic Development Corporation
Brevig Mission, Diomede, Elim, Gambell, Golovin, Koyuk, Nome, Saint Michael, Savoonga, Shaktoolik, Stebbins, Teller, Unalakleet, Wales, White Mountain
Pacific Seafood
Pacific Seafood Processors Association
Alaska General Seafoods, Alyeska Seafoods, Golden Alaska Seafoods, North Pacific Seafoods, Peter Pan Seafoods, Phoenix Processor Limited Partnership, Trident Seafoods, UniSea, Westward Seafoods
United Catcher Boats
Akutan Catcher Vessel Association, Mothership Fleet Cooperative, Northern Victor Fleet Cooperative, Peter Pan Fleet Cooperative, Unalaska Fleet Cooperative, Unisea Fleet Cooperative, Westward Fleet Cooperative

Our Contact Info

Marine Conservation Alliance **WE’VE MOVED!**

Mailing Address: Physical Address:
PO Box 1030
Poulsbo, WA 98370
18804 Front St NE, Suite 204
Poulsbo, WA 98370

(360) 626-1140 (office)
(206) 260-3639 (fax)

Lori Swanson, Executive Director moc.liamg@acmsirol
Stephanie Dunlap, Administrative Assistant moc.liamg@acmdeinahpets